CMMI certification

You are here : Home » CMMI certification
cmmi Certification

CMMI certification

iso certification enquiry

Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI), is a process improvement approach, provided by Carnegie Mellon University, United States, whose goal is to help organizations improve their performance. CMMI can be used to guide process improvement across a project, a division, or an entire organization. Currently supported is CMMI Version 1.3.

In CMMI models with a staged representation, there are five maturity levels designated by the numbers 1 through 5.

Initial                                 –             Process unpredictable, poorly controlled and reactive approach.

Managed                            –             Process characterized for projects and adopts reactive approach.

Defined                              –             Process characterized for the Organization and adopts proactive approach

Quantitatively Managed       –             Process measured and controlled.

Plan                                  –             Focusing on Continual process improvement.


Product and service development           —           CMMI for Development (CMMI-DEV),

Service establishment, management      —            CMMI for Services (CMMI-SVC), and

Product and service acquisition              —            CMMI for Acquisition (CMMI-ACQ).



Appraisals of organizations using a CMMI model must conform to the requirements defined in the Appraisal Requirements for CMMI (ARC) document. There are three classes of appraisals, A, B and C, which focus on identifying improvement opportunities and comparing the organization’s processes to CMMI best practices. Of these, class A appraisal is the most formal and is the only one that can result in a level rating. Appraisal teams use a CMMI model and ARC-conformant appraisal method to guide their evaluation of the organization and their reporting of conclusions. The appraisal results can then be used (e.g., by a process group) to plan improvements for the organization.


The Standard CMMI Appraisal Method for Process Improvement (SCAMPI) is an appraisal method that meets all of the ARC requirements. Results of an SCAMPI appraisal may be published (if the appraised organization approves) on the CMMI Web site of the SEI. SCAMPI also supports the conduct of ISO/IEC 15504, also known as SPICE(Software Process Improvement and Capability Determination), assessments etc.

© reserved by iasiso